PDA

View Full Version : Creating DMM Assets for the API



Mr. Wonko
07-23-2010, 04:02 AM
Hello,

once the free version of DMM is released, assets will be necessary to be able to use it. From the website:

The Authoring pipeline is the DMM Plug-In which is available for both Max and Maya.
Does this mean that although the API itself will be free we can't create models for it without buying the plugin? And Max / Maya?

Thanks,
Mr. Wonko

dmmjedi
07-25-2010, 11:00 AM
You can use either the command line toolchain or the plug-in. The plug-in is built from our command line toolchain and I suspect someone will add it to Blender or some other open source modelling package for free use.

It is certainly possible to create procedural DMM objects, we have seen some interesting work done with that.

Mr. Wonko
07-27-2010, 04:45 AM
Thanks, I'm relieved. That somebody who adds it to blender might just be me, who knows^^

Writing blender plugins is more my level than writing a whole app... Hopefully that'll have changed once the API is out. :mrgreen: Well, looking forward to it :D